The Governing body at Wollaston Community Primary School takes an active and supportive interest in all aspects of school life.  

Whilst the Head teacher is responsible for the day-to-day management and leadership of the school, the Governing Body are involved with overseeing the curriculum, pupil welfare, premises, personnel and school finances at a strategic level.

The role of governing bodies is to help the school provide the best possible education for their pupils by:

  • Setting the school’s values, Vision and Strategic Aims.
  • Agreeing the school’s plans and policies and making creative uses of resources
  • Monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Head teacher to support and challenge them in managing the school;
  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.

We are fortunate to have a dedicated team of governors who are actively involved in the life of the school.

The current governors are drawn from a wide cross section of the community, and consist of the Headteacher, representatives from the Local Authority, parents, staff and members of the local community. When the term of office of a parent governor comes to an end, elections take place to replace them.

If you wish to bring any matters to the attention of the Governing Body, you should address your correspondence to: Chair of Governors, c/o Wollaston Community Primary School, College Street, Wollaston, Northamptonshire, NN29 7SF.

Carol Witherden Chair/Co-opted Governor
Mr Roy Leighton Co-opted Governor
Mrs Hayley Sutherland Co-opted Governor
Mr Tom Hodson Co-opted Governor
Mr Simon Hopkins Co-opted Governor
Mr Philip Knight Parent Governor
Mrs Marie Norris Parent Governor
Mrs Sally Hamson Head Teacher
Mrs Dianne Freeman Non-teaching Governor
Mr Philip Robinson Teacher Governor
Mrs Zoe Richards Co-opted Teacher Governor


Mrs Dianne Freeman